Digital Accessibility Index: Learn where the world’s leading brands fall short on accessibility.

See Report

What We Test to Ensure ADA Compliance

BoIA testing is conducted on digital assets in accordance with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.1 (WCAG 2.1 A/AA). In addition to specific page testing, BoIA develops custom use cases which test the sequence of steps required to accomplish an activity.

WCAG 2.1 A/AA has 13 guidelines that are categorized by four principles:

Principle 1: Perceivable

Information and user interface components must be presented to users in ways they can perceive. This means that users must be able to comprehend the information being depicted (it can’t be invisible to all of their senses). The guidelines under this principle are:

  • Provide text alternatives for non-text content.
  • Provide captions and other alternatives for multimedia.
  • Create content that can be presented in different ways without losing meaning.
  • Make it easier for users to see and hear content.

Principle 2: Operable

User interface components and navigation must be operable (the interface cannot require interaction that a user cannot perform). The guidelines under this principle are:

  • Make all functionality available from a keyboard.
  • Give users enough time to read and use content.
  • Do not use content that causes seizures.
  • Help users navigate and find content.

Principle 3: Understandable

Information and the operation of a user interface must be understandable. Users must be able to understand the information as well as the operation of the user interface. The guidelines under this principle are:

  • Make text readable and comprehendible.
  • Make content appear and operate in predictable ways.
  • Help users avoid and correct mistakes.

Principle 4: Robust

Content must be robust enough that it can be interpreted reliably by a wide variety of user agents, including assistive technologies. As technologies and user agents evolve, the content should remain accessible. The guideline under this principle is:

  • Maximize compatibility with current and future user tools.

Note: Section 508 testing is conducted using the updated standards of WCAG 2.1 A/AA.

Not sure where to start?

Start with a free analysis of your website's accessibility.